Sino-foreign cooperation in academics

Presidents and representatives from 47 Sino-foreign cooperative universities and institutions gathered at the University of Nottingham Ningbo China in April to attend the Sino-Foreign Cooperative University Presidents Forum, where they shared their experiences in running cooperative projects and discussed the future of cooperative education in China. Fast and sound development China's very first Sino-foreign cooperative university, the University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC), was established in 2004 by Zhejiang Wanli University and the University of Nottingham following the 2003 Regulations of the People's Republic of China on Chinese-Foreign Cooperation in Running Schools. The regulations encouraged high-quality foreign educational resources by renowned foreign universities to be introduced into China. It also allowed cooperatively run Sino-foreign schools to enjoy the preferential policies put in place by the State when conducting educational activities. Eleven years on, there are now over 2,000 Sino-foreign cooperative projects in China, including 40 cooperative institutions and seven cooperative universities, totaling approximately 550,000 students. Five of the seven Sino-foreign cooperative universities are in the Yangtze Delta. They are all located in areas that have benefited from open trade and exchange with foreign countries.

Read the full article here.